

RUSSELL H. PERRY FREE ENTERPRISE AWARD DINNER

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE RUSSELL H. PERRY FREE ENTERPRISE AWARD



John Stemmons, Sr. Trammell Crow Maurice Acers Ebby Halliday Acers Tom Landry Kenneth Cooper Boone Powell, Sr. Boone Powell, Jr. 1988 1989 1990 1990 1991 1992 1993 1993



Bob Minyard Liz Minyard Gretchen Minyard Williams J.L. Sonny Williams Bo Pilgrim Forrest Smith Rodger Meier Jim Turner 1994 1994 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998



George Shafer J. Ray Weir & the Weir Noble Hurley Ross Perot, Jr. Erle Nye Mary C. Crowley Pete Schenkel David Dean 1999 200Ó **Furniture Family** 2001 (posthumously) 2002 2004 (posthumously) 2005 2006 2003



DBU REPORT 25th Anniversary

RAISING SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS

Since its establishment, the Russell H. Perry Free Enterprise Award Dinner has raised over \$3,850,000 toward scholarships for more than 1,650 students pursuing entrepreneurial, economic, business, and other academic studies at Dallas Baptist University.

Co-sponsored by *The*Dallas Morning News, the dinner is named in memory of the late Russell H.



Perry, a Dallas financial, civic, and philanthropic leader and faithful supporter of DBU. Mrs. Russell H. Perry remains one of DBU's strongest supporters.

Coordinated for the past 25 years by John Clem, DBU director of development (pictured below right along with his wife, Carole), the dinner recognizes outstanding citizens who use their God-given talents and abilities to make the most of opportunities created for them by the free enterprise system and for their service to the community.

DBU is blessed to have had many individuals over the years who have helped with the Russell Perry Dinner, through both financial support and by serving as members of the dinner committee and event personalities. To the right you can see the names of past keynote speakers for the dinner.

Phoebe Perry (*pictured below far right*), the wife of the late Russell H. Perry, graciously allowed DBU to begin this dinner in memory of Mr. Perry, and she has continued to be supportive of the dinner through the years.

CEO of Baylor Healthcare Systems Joel Allison (*pictured below with his wife Diane*) has also served as a past honorary chair of the Russell Perry Dinner. Along with Mr. Allison and his wife are Dr. Gary Cook and his wife, Sheila (*center*), and Dr. Jim Denison and his wife, Janet. Dr. Jim Denison, founder and president of the Denison Forum on Truth and Culture (*far right*), has served as a past chair of the Russell Perry Dinner as well as a keynote speaker for the event.

PAST KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

William S. Banowsky - 1988 Bobby Inman, Former President Gerald Ford - 1989 Former President George W. Bush -1990, 1995 Kenneth H. Cooper - 1991 Drayton McLane, Jr. - 1992 Tom Landry - 1993 Jack W. Evans - 1994 John Sharp - 1996 Tracy Rowlett - 1997 Grant Teaff - 1998 Gov. Rick Perry - 1999 Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison - 2000 Barbara Bush - 2001 Rep. Pete Sessions - 2002 Sen. John Cornyn - 2003 George Gallup - 2004 Rep. J. C. Watts - 2005

Gov. Rick Perry - 2007 Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison - 2008 Neal Jeffrey -2010 Joe Gibbs - 2011 Jim Denison - 2012

Kenny Marchant - 2006









n 2007, DBU began a new scholarship dinner, the Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner. Named in honor of the famed coach of the Dallas Cowboys, the annual award dinner honors North Texas leaders who exemplify the leadership and character qualities of Tom Landry as they use their God-given talents to serve others through their chosen vocation. Proceeds from this dinner go to support scholarships for students from Collin County and Arlington.

Annually held on the DBU campus, the following individuals pictured below have been instrumental in the development of the Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner: (*Right*) Wayne Stevenson along with his wife, Buena (a DBU trustee), in 2011 when Mr. Stevenson received the Tom Landry Leadership Award.

(Bottom left) Drs. Kenneth and Millie Cooper. Dr. Kenneth Cooper is a past recipient of the DBU Russell H. Perry Award. He and Millie are faithful friends and supporters of DBU and the Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner.

(Bottom middle) Dr. Jon Lineberger (center left), associate vice president and director of DBU North, along with his wife, Gina (far left), are pictured with Candice Wright (center right), executive director of the DBU Women's Auxiliary Board, and her husband, Dr. Adam Wright, DBU vice president and dean of the Gary Cook Graduate School of Leadership. Dr. Wright, along with Dr. Lineberger, worked to begin the Tom Landry Dinner in 2007.

(Bottom right) In 2006, Mrs. Alicia Landry graciously allowed DBU to name this award dinner in her late husband's memory and continues to serve as honorary chair of the event. Previously, DBU dedicated its welcome center in honor of the Landrys. Standing behind Mrs. Landry is Dr. Jerry Carlisle, DBU trustee and member of the dinner committee.

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE TOM LANDRY LEADERSHIP AWARD

Congressman
Sam Johnson (2007)
Dr. Jack Graham (2008)
Mike Simpson (2009)
Dr. Jeff Warren (2010)
Wayne Stevenson (2011)
Fred Moses (2012)
Tillie Burgin (2013)





